Posted by: Winged Knits | March 7, 2012

Self publishing: Choosing a photographer

Everything has been photographed now for my in progress book and I thought I would do some posts about the people that I am working with and why I chose them.

Choosing a photographer was by far the easiest part of the entire process. There was no question in my mind, no need to research anyone else, it had to be my lovely, talented, knitting designer and incredible photographer friend, Carrie Bostick Hoge.

Carrie has such an amazing eye for composition and keeping it simple while showing off knits. It is silly how much more I like my knits after I see her photos of them.

Here are some examples of her work from past shoots:

Photo for Liesl Cowl designed by Carrie.

Photo of Rocky Coast designed by Hannah Fettig for Coastal Knits.

Photo of Idlewood designed by me.

And all of the photography for Quince and Co.!!!! Here are just a few-

Photo of Avery designed by Melissa LaBarre

Photo of Alaria Shawl designed by Leah Thibault

Photo of Briggs Street designed by Dawn Catanzaro

Photo of Alys Cardigan designed by Bristol Ivy.

For more of Carrie’s photography, check the Quince and Co site here- http://quinceandco.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=2

And her beautiful, beautiful blog here- http://swatchdiaries.blogspot.com/

I bet you can now see why choosing the photographer was so easy!?!

I’ll  be adding some more posts along this line as we lead up to releasing the book in September.

Thank you for visiting,

C


Responses

  1. I agree with you Cecily, Carrie is a talented photographer! I love your pattern and the photos have always kept my eyes and I cannot be able to resist to buy the pattern each time🙂

  2. No doubt about it, Carrie does awesome work! Looking forward to Sept. too🙂

  3. ooo, I cant wait for some ‘teasers’!

  4. Thanks for the great post! I love both your and Carrie’s work and it’s great to see them together. Look forward to seeing your new work in Sept.

    (Btw – I just finished Katrine over the weekend – turned out simply gorgeous! Anastasia is on the needles now! Many thanks for those! I will post to my Ravelry account soon.)

    Best wishes🙂

  5. The new book looks fabulous…I love to see Cecily model her own designs! I was sad that she wasn’t in the book…but I loved all the patterns!


Leave a Reply

Categories

