Posted by: Winged Knits | April 28, 2011

New Pattern: Gavotte

I released a new pattern this week called Gavotte. Gavotte is worked from the top down in one piece with raglan shaping and a drape-y front neck.

Photos are by Carrie Bostick Hoge and I couldn’t resist adding one of me and her amazing daughter!

Gavotte is a sweater that I had in my mind for ages and finally had time to knit it.  It was photographed quite awhile ago and I have worn it a ton since then. I have a rule that I can’t wear my knits until the have been photographed, I have a big fear that I will spill something ridiculous on them!

Naming this one was tough, in my head it was always “that-sweater-that-I-having-been-thinking-about-knitting-forever”, but that seemed a bit long ;)  I end up choosing Gavotte, which the dictionary describes as a French peasant dance with a moderate tempo. I think it works?

Finished Measurements at bust: 30 ¼ (32 ¼, 35 ¾, 39, 42 ¼, 45 ¾, 49, 52 ¼, 55 ¾)”

Gauge: 24 sts and 32 rows = 4” in Stockinette Stitch (St st)

Materials:
Suave Sport by Becoming Art (100% superwash merino wool; 380 yds/ 347 m, 4 oz skein)
• 3 (3, 3, 3, 4, 4, 4, 4, 5) skeins Nutmeg
Approx yards needed: 890 (945, 1050, 1120, 1235, 1340, 1440, 1510, 1630) yards.

Note: Suave Sport has been discontinued, but Becoming Art’s Agave Heavy Fingering is a great substitute.

The pattern for Gavotte is $6.50.

Ravelry link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gavotte

Buy now

Thank you for visiting!

Cecily


Responses

  1. You are such a talented designer. I have two designs of yours that I have on my needles right now. Maybe I need one more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

