Posted by: Winged Knits | February 11, 2011

Hollyhock

Hollyhock

This is my new friend with the big cowl, I love wearing it! However, I am including additional instructions in the pattern for a narrower and shorter collar…..I love this version, but it might be too much for some:) Better to have options, no?
Cowl neck shown in photos measures approx 27 3/4” circumference by 6 1/2” tall after folding over, second cowl neck instructions are for one that measures approx 18 1/2” cirumference by 4 1/2” tall after folding over.
Hollyhock is worked top down, in the round, in one piece from the cowl to the bottom.
I love this yarn from Imperial Stock Ranch it is named Erin and worsted weight. It has the rustic-ness that I adore, it is not over processed or overworked. It feels strong, sturdy and warm like wool should, but it is also really soft! Beautiful stuff.

Sizes: 33 ¼ (35 ¾, 38 ¼, 40, 45, 48 ½, 51 ¾, 54 ¼, 57 ¾)” finished measurement at bust.

Gauge: 19 sts and 24 rows = 4” in Stockinette Stitch (St st).

Yarn:

Erin by Imperial Stock Ranch (100% wool; 245 yds/ 4 oz hank)

• 4 (4, 4, 5, 5, 5, 6, 6, 6) hanks Natural

• Approx yards needed: 880 (910, 970, 1030, 1130, 1190, 1280, 1350, 1420) yards

Pattern is available here for $6,50 or through the Ravelry page here- http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hollyhock-5


Responses

  1. It’s beautiful! I love it – the cowl neckline is very cosy and the sweet little capped sleeves so pretty with their garter stitch band. Definitely on my to knit list. Got to finish my harvest yet – I’m up to the lace band and then it will be onto the sleeves. p.s I adore the fabric/wallpaper behind you – what is it?

  2. I really like the big cowl, looks beautiful!

  3. I love the design in the cowl neckline.🙂 I’m loving the fabric and/or wallpaper as well.

  4. I love this. Am a fan of the big cowl myself….

  5. Lovely sweater!

  6. Really lovely…love many of your designs. Am knitting Idlewood; think I’ll have to add this to my queue.

  7. Love it, love it, love it! And it is on my needles🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

