Posted by: Winged Knits | December 31, 2010

Help out a wonderful place this new year!

I have had such a wonderful year and as the new year is about to begin, I have been thinking about the things that I am thankful for. Having arts and crafts in my life is a huge one. This is something that I wish for everyone, so I am posting about a non profit business that I think is just amazing.

Help bring arts and crafts to kids while helping the environment!

My wonderful and incredibly talented friend Jodi has been involved with this grand venture for many years now called ExCL (extras for creative learning).

ExCL is non-profit that offers teachers, group leaders, parents, and artists the opportunity to obtain low-cost or no-cost recycled materials that offer unlimited creative opportunities to nurture learning, exploration, and discovery in classrooms, child care centers, youth groups, and beyond.

ExCL helps to bring art and craft supplies to kids that might otherwise not have them. What could be better! I am completely convinced that the ability for children to express themselves through art and creative play is a necessity for their healthy growth and well being.  Through out my life making things has not only brought me joy, but also provided confidence, an outlet to express myself, improved fine motor skills, a new way to look at the world, beauty, creativity and much, much more.

To make a tax deductible monetary donation, or a if you are a business (yarn companies, etc)  and have items that you might otherwise throw out, click here to read about (and then donate to!) ExCL.

With Jodi there, I know that no donation is too small (or too large), she will creatively and ingeniously  make the most of each donation

Check out an ExCL blog post here for a wonderful letter written by a member to help ExCL find a new space.

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you will consider donating. Tomorrow I will be posting about and releasing a new pattern.

I hope that you all have a wonderful New Year!

Cecily

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

