Posted by: Winged Knits | December 13, 2010

Gifts for craft-y friends (and 2 new sweater designs)

Ah, holiday shopping….. Some of it is really fun., I love when I find something that I know is just the perfect gift for a friend or family member.  Then there are the more difficult gifts, what to get someone who doesn’t really need or want anything? I find Etsy to be a huge help for both of these types of gifts.

As I was browsing, I have found so many wonderful items to add to my own “What I want for Christmas” list and I thought I would share some of my favorites.  I am going to put up a single item from these shops (to keep this post from getting way too long), but I suggest visiting their shops and viewing the other items these artists have for sale.  They all have more than one item that I would wish for!

Here are some useful and pretty items:

A handmade leather journal/ sketchbook from greentrikepress

Adorable cupcake pin cushion ring from madeinlowell

Yarn bowl from jenniethepotter

Beautiful hand crochet and bead bracelet from BrickMillStudio

Mitten necklaces from blockpartypress

Wonderful little travel notions pouch by RoseKnits

Fluffy Little Sheep Necklace from marmar

Solid Sterling Silver Lace Flower earring from the lace collection by heatherwangjewelry

(I have already requested a pair of these as my Christmas gift from Ethan. Heather also custom made our wedding bands!)

So besides the holiday shopping, I have been knitting and knitting and knitting.

Here are the most recent pattern designs from me that have been released.

Cecily’s Silk Cardigan from Blue Sky Alpacas is a short sleeve top down cardigan knit in one piece with little pockets in the wonderful Blue Sky Alpacas Silk yarn.

The second is Breakwater which is available through my self published Winged Knits collection here for $6.00.

Breakwater is a top down raglan worked in one piece in the round with waist shaping and simple slip stitch trims at the neck and cuffs. It is an easy to wear pullover with simple details. Luxe Merino Fine by Kitchen Sink Dyeworks is a fantastic fingering weight sock yarn with a wonderfully soft hand and is available in an incredible selection of colors.
Optional decorative buttons at neck.

Sizes: 32 (35, 38 ½, 42 ¼, 45 ¾, 49 ½, 53, 56 ¾, 60 ¼ )”
Yarn info: Luxe Merino Fine by Kitchen Sink Dyeworks (80% superwash merino, 10% cashmere, 10% nylon) 120 gram skein = approx 390 yards
• 3 (3, 3, 3, 3, 4, 4, 4, 4) hanks, color Edgar
• Approx yards: 800 (880, 955, 1030, 1130, 1200, 1325, 1425, 1510) yards

Gauge:22 sts and 30 rows = 4″ in Stockinette Stitch.

Breakwater photos by Carrie Bostick Hoge.


Responses

  1. I love all your designs but this is really one of my favorite … I already ordered the wool .. I can’t wait to start !!!

  2. Merry Christmastime to you and your family, Cecily! So enjoyed finding your designs and blog this year – looking forward to knitting up a storm in 2011 !!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

