Posted by: Winged Knits | November 7, 2010

Two in Lace: Fairwind and Levee

My desktop Mac that has been slowly on its’ way out, actually stopped working, so I am now typing from my beautiful new Macbook!  I love the freedom that the Macbook allows me, I can work on patterns from almost anywhere now.  But I am still reeling a bit from having to spend the money to buy it and the loss of my old friend.  Big purchases (and this is HUGE to me) stress me out, no matter how necessary and helpful they are.  However, this is one that I should be able to get over quickly…… if I can just figure out why my printer won’t scan to it….?

So my first post using my new friend is just a quick one to introduce a sweater pattern that I released last week and a hood/scarf pattern that I will be releasing tomorrow.

Fairwind-

Fairwind is a lightweight asymmetric cardigan knit in Bijou Basin’s wonderfully soft and strong undyed Himalayan Trail yarn. It is knit from the neck down in one piece with the stitches for the collar picked up at the end.
Finished Measurements at bust (buttoned): 33 ¼ (37 ½, 41 ¼, 44 ¾, 48 ¼, 51, 54 ½, 58)”
Materials:
Himalayan Trail by Bijou Basin (75% Yak Down, 25% Super Fine Merino; 2 oz skein = approx 200 yards)
• 4 (5, 5, 6, 6, 6, 7, 7) skeins Natural Brown
• Approx yards: 800 (900, 950,1000, 1100, 1180, 1260, 1350) yards

Photos by Carrie Bostick Hoge

Pattern is available here for $6.00.

Levee

Levee is a hood with long scarf tails worked in a pretty, easy to work, and not too open lacy stitch pattern with garter stitch trims.  The hood is substantial enough to provide warmth, but light enough to not add a lot of bulk at the back of your neck when worn down.  As much as I love hats, I get crazy “hat head” instantly, so once I put one on it has to stay on.  But with a hood I can keep keep warm without plastering my bangs to my forehead!

Levee takes 4 hanks (approx 535 yards) of amazingly beautiful, soft and springy, Lark by Quince and Co.   The stitch pattern I used in Levee is similar to the one that I used in the Castle Pullover. The pattern for Levee is available for purchase here for $5.00.

Photos by Carrie Bostick Hoge

Thank you for reading!

C


Responses

  1. Gorgeous! I’ve been waiting for you to release Fairwind ever since I first saw it appear in your Ravelry projects.

  2. both patterns look beautiful. We are a mac house too. So worth the investment – even though I know it always hurts at the moment it comes out of our bank account.🙂

  3. Both patterns are lovely. I have queued Levee for as a maybe gift for SIL.

  4. Lovely patterns, as always…Mum had a similar prob with new MacBook this week. Had to download both a new printer driver AND a new scanner driver for Snow Leopard to play nicely with the slightly older printer. Hope this helps…


Leave a Reply

Categories

