Posted by: Winged Knits | November 30, 2010

Today’s Quince and Co. e-letter!

Today’s Quince and Co e-letter features an open cardigan with pockets, named Solstice Cardigan, knit in Quince and Co. Osprey and designed by me!

Ahhh, I loooooovvve Quince.  I keep trying to decide which Q yarn I like best, and I just can’t do it, so I am going to just have to say that they are all my favorite, that works right?

So here are a few words about one of my favorite yarns, Quince and Co Osprey-  Osprey is a beautiful plied aran weight yarn.  The super soft American wool is strong yet lightweight and the twist allows for incredible stitch definition.  And it is an aran weight yarn that comes in 100 gram hanks, yay!, lots of yardage means so many less ends to weave in than 50 gram hanks! And of course Osprey comes in the beautiful Quince color palette. The color that I used is called Chanterelle and I think it is just perfect.  It has the neutral tone of a brown and can be worn with so many things, however, because it is such a fair color it is  more striking and really shows off the pattern stitches.

Yarn  Info
Osprey by Quince and Co.(100% American wool; 170 yards 155 meters/100 gram hank)
• 6 (6, 7, 7, 8, 8, 9, 9, 9) hanks of Chanterelle

 

And here is a bit of info about the pattern:

Solstice Cardigan is a cozy, easy to wear cardigan knitted in the incredibly soft and quick to knit Quince and Co. Osprey. It is worked in one piece from the top down.
Solstice is cast on at the top of the back of the collar and this part of the collar is worked in rib to the neck. Then the yoke shaping and body pattern stitches begin and stitches for the front collar sections are cast on then the sweater is continued in one piece (except for the pockets). The ribbing at the waist provides a simple bit of waist shaping. Once the body is complete, the CO edges of the front collar sections are seamed to the sides of the back collar section.
The pattern stitches and shaping are all formed using easy techniques. The body section is worked in a Twisted Stockinette Stitch (knit all sts through the back loop on the RS, and purl as usual on the WS) and the “cables” on the sleeve are Faux Cables that use a fun drop stitch technique and no cable needle is needed:)

All photos by the wonderful Carrie Bostick Hoge (see more of her photography and knitting designs at maddermade.com)

The pattern for Solstice Cardigan maybe purchased for $6.00 through Winged Knits (via Ravelry) by clicking here or through Quince and Co. by clicking here.

Thank you!

 

Responses

  1. I received my newsletter from Quince today and I love the sweater design. Congratulations!

  2. Another beautiful design and I love everything about it!

  3. I love your design – gorgeous! I can’t wait to cast on in the New Year :) Thanks for another great pattern.

  4. Really, really love this one. I bought the pattern yesterday and plan on going back for the Osprey yarn soon :)

  5. Very lovely, Cecily. I really enjoyed seeing this in my Quince & Co. letter yesterday and am looking forward to getting back up to Portland to fondle more of the yarn in person.

  6. Cecily,
    Just had to let you know that Solstice is far too gorgeous to resist. My Ravelry queue is begging for you to take a vacation from all the beautiful designing you’ve been up to! My stash is pleading with me now too–I am in Portland, and so it is far too easy for me to get my hands on the equally as lovely Quince yarn.

    Seriously, though, Solstice is both beautiful and wearable; I particularly love the detailing on the back waist. I hope to treat myself to casting it on if I ever finish up my holiday knitting. Happy knitting in 2011 to us all!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

