Posted by: Winged Knits | September 19, 2010

Two Lights

Ethan and I had a great time today visiting the beach at Two Lights on Cape Elizabeth and taking pictures of my new shawls, which of course, I had to name Two Lights. (I am totally stuck on naming designs after streets near where they were photographed.)

AND, it always seems that as Fall begins to arrive I get completely obsessed with bulky yarns.  I just can’t get enough of them.  I love the soft and squishy single ply large gauge yarns.  Projects knit up so quickly and are so cozy!

I fall again and again for bulky knits because you can really SEE each stitch, the purl bumps and knit v’s are so exaggerated.  And I think that is just beautiful and also looks a bit modern and quirky.

I wanted to use a bulky yarn for something that is not often thought of as knit in a bulky yarn.  When I think of a shawls I imagine tiny yarn in tiny little intricate lace patterns.  So I decided to knit shawls in super bulky and bulky yarns.

The shawls are simple: the body is in garter stitch with a simple lace edging.  Again, I love how dynamic even the simplest stitches look when knit at a large gauge!

The pattern is available here for $5.50  and includes instructions for both the shawls.

Earthy Pink Bulky version is knit with 3 hanks of Quince and Co. Puffin in color Clay.

Navy Blue Super Bulky version is knit with 3 hanks of Twinkle Soft Chunky in color Deep Sea.

Photos are by my wonderful husband, Ethan MacDonald.

Kristen TenDyke’s first collection of designs for Caterpillar Knits were also shot at the same location, by Carrie Bostick Hoge.

Responses

  1. I would not have thought I would like a shawl in bulky yarn but WOW, beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

