Posted by: Winged Knits | November 15, 2009

Twist Collective Winter 09

I am so thrilled to have had a design accepted for the twist collective Winter 09 issue.  The issue went live today and is full of wonderful designs!  Here is my sweater named Mystere-

mystere_z_500_medium mystereback_a_500_medium

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For this design I began with the idea that I wanted a pullover that could be worn dressed up with a skirt or just thrown on with jeans, something very versatile and easy to wear.  I really wanted it to be a rather simple knit with a few easy details to keep it interesting, what I think of as relaxing, almost meditative knitting.  I love the texture of the Reverse Stockinette Stitch up against the smooth Stockinette Stitch panels.  Down the center of the Stockinette Stitch Panels on the front and back is what I called a “shadow cable”.  This cable is twisted many rows apart to keep it from pulling the stitches as much as a traditional cable does, this keeps the panel more flat and adds a bit of “Mystere” as to what the stitch is.  The lovely gray in the model sweater is a wonderful choice for a garment that can be worn with many outfits, but I also think that this design would work well in a strong, bright color. However, when choosing a color for this sweater it is important to note that the darker the color, the less visible the shadow cable will be.  The cable is basically visible because of the shadows cast by the twisted, raised stitches, the darker the color, the less contrast there is between the shadows and highlight areas.

Responses

  1. I absolutely love this! Thanks for an inspired design. I just downloaded it!

    • Thank you!

  2. It’s beautiful!

  3. I love the shape, the design, the creativity. Congratulation.

  4. Very chic design…I love reverse stockinette too!

    • Thank you Gudrun:) I can’t wait to get the projects that I am working on finished so I can start a Tanit’s jacket for me!

  5. Hi Cecily… That is my girl modeling you lovely design! Hey, a question… I have a ton of ladies making your older pattern “Cables and Lace” (see them on Ravelry) and I really really want to get the pattern from you, as I have bought all the old mags with it and now am desperate. Can you tweak it and sell it to my shop?
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

